In many societies, elderly people often live in retirement homes. This is not appropriate because families should always care for their ageing members. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that the old being sent to nursing homes in many countries worldwide is appropriate. In my opinion, however, I strongly believe that family members should take care of them at homes.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons leading to the phenomenon of ageing members living in retirement homes. Firstly, care homes provide more professional healthcare services. In fact, authorities have invested a large sum of money in modern facilities and care workers including nurses are trained better than family members. Secondly, the elderly are likely to meet their fellows there. They live in the same generation, share the same interests, thereby resulting in a close bond among them. Therefore, they become much happier and there will be a rise in the rate of life expectancy.

On the other hand, I reckon that family members should have a responsibility towards the older people in our society and care for them. The old brought up their offspring since they were born, supplied them with education, food so when their children grew up, they should look after their parents. Furthermore, living in an extended family means that people can gather, eat, watch television together and share their happiness and sorrow with others. This would create a harmonious and cozy atmosphere and every member can experience a sense of belonging.

In conclusion, although some people are in favor of sending the ageing population to the retirement homes, I personally think that their family members should themselves look after them.