Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Taking a gap year is a big decision forto many students. However, some people believe it is a waste of time. By contrast, a part of people think it is a good idea for students. Is a gap year is unbeneficial for students? In this essay, I will offer my opinion and given supporting examples and reasons why a gap year is a great idea in my point of view.

First of all, a gap year can provide chances to let students explore the world as well as deal with some new changes that people haven’t been experienced before. Generally speaking, what they will do during their a gap year is that they will travel to many countries alone, and they won’t travel as usual with their family members. Therefore, it is a great stimulus to help a person grown up via independently figuring out those problems that happen in life, for example, rentrend a flat, socialize with other people, or make a schedule. Thus, it is clear to see that taking a gap year is beneficial for students especially on their personal growth, and helps them increase their abilities to live alone.

Secondly, to take a gap year means that they are older than their classmates when they get back to their universities, with that being said the person who takes a gap year tends to be more mature than others. That is beneficial for the people to complete the chances and the opportunities in universities, while creating their own networking. That is because they experience how the real society works during their gap year meanwhile, they know that the importance of resources or networks when they acquire some jobs during their gap year.

To sum up, taking a gap year is a good decision in my opinion. That is because it can gain a lot of experience that your contemporaries might not have during the gap year, while it helps you to become more independent than others. Furthermore, it can remind people to use the school sources to build their personal network.