Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

After graduation, many students take one year to travel and work in foreign countries between the end of high school and the beginning of university. Some people argue it is quite a waste of time and money. In my point of view, I believe this is a valuable experience to develop your capacity of independent in this marvellous period for teenagers.

To begin with, it can develop these qualities after graduation to help their career in the future while they work with a part-time job during university. It can provide young people getting outside your comfort zone, which gains a persistent attitude with a competitive environment and faces full of frustration in any situation. In addition, they may experience tough work in a stressful environment such as working in a factory to earn incomes for living, and which helps to face a tough time while they study at university. In short, young people should experience an essential year between graduating high school and university.

Furthermore, the main reason that young people can provide an important advantage to gain a lot of life and work experiences to develop a good person. For living in a foreign country, travelling offers an excellent opportunity to learn about different countries and learn how to become more independent and grow up, as they require the ability to handle these situations by themselves. For example, they need to manage their finances, how to cook their meals every day without parents, use a different language to exist in a strange country, understand how to use public transports. It is exactly different compares to travel a country as a tourist, not only improve their foreign language skill but gain an understanding of different cultures. For this reason, taking a gap year is an essential benefit prior to starting university.

In the nutshell, I think a gap year is a crucial experience for individuals to create a personal relationship with their spare time. This is quite vital to living in a foreign country for a while and it offers better work opportunities in a person’s career in the future.