Many students find it difficult to focus or pay attention at school nowadays.

What are the reasons for this?

What can be done to solve this problem?

These days many learners, who are studying at schools and colleges, find it hard to concentrate on academic courses. This essay will describe principal reasons for this and then provide some viable solution to cater this issue.

One of the main reasons for students being unable to focus in studies is the increase in the number of courses at the educational institutions. In the past there were few courses per subject that were essential for students to attend. For example, computer, financial management and statistics are distinct course subjects that were not being taught in school before the year 2000. Now, these subjects are included as essential part of syllabus in education; therefore, acquisition of knowledge may only be possible by the division of attention. However, reduction in number of chapters per course could help with this problem; as a result, students, who have to study additional courses, will be more attentive in school.

Over use of digital media, such as mobile phones and laptops, by the students could be another reason for this trend. Since students spent their time mostly playing games, watching movies and using the Internet, they have less time to study. For instance, a recent study from oxford university concluded that use of mobile phones and personal computers is rendered as the main causes of low grades in schooling. Undoubtedly, this problem can be solved by limiting the use of digital devices for students and this is possible by parents limiting the use of mobile phones and laptops in the home. Students should only be allowed to use electronic media for study propose only and this could eventually lead to students getting good grades in education.

In conclusion, increase in educational subjects and availability of digital devices are rendered as the main reasons for loss of focus in studies. Although, this issue could be resolves by limiting content of subjects and restricting students from using mobile phones and tablets. Therefore, It is recommended that school administration and parents can work together to cater this issue.