Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

In recent year, while a lot of students must leave their family to stay at another city in order to pursue their tertiary education, others are able to stay with their parents because they study in their hometown. Both trends have their own merits and drawbacks and they will be analyzed.

Students who opt the education in their hometown or students live in the metropolises do not need to leave their family. For the good aspect, their parents responsible for the household bills so that they do not have any pressure from the financial train. Furthermore, they possess the emotional support and daily conversations from members of their families, thus it is easy for them to go over after any crisis. On the contrast, they tend to be dependent upon their parents and if they struggle with difficulties without the help of their parents, they cannot tackle the problem by themselves. Moreover, some time students find themselves distracted from the family’s activities and they cannot stay on their track.

On the other part, numerous students must leave their families and stay in the different cities to continue their academic way. On an individual level, students who choose living alone become more independent and self-reliant. If they stay in a shared house or in the dormitory, they will learn how live in harmony with friends. In addition, students have space to establish their study routine and escape from the distraction of little things in family ‘s life. However, that there are some influences which can be anticipated. They miss out on the support from their parents and might face challenge with all the household bills.

While there are some differences in each circumstance, it is easy to identify the viable pros and cons in both situations.