In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the recent world, communication through the internet is becoming more and more common. Especially in workplaces, many companies are applying online meeting rather than holding a meeting in person. I believe that the benefits come from this outweigh the drawbacks.

One of the supportive reasons is that people who have limited in transportation are able to participate in the meeting. This is convenient for workers who are living in different cities than where the conference is held. In addition, people working from home or having little kids to take care of do not have to leave their comfort zones but can still join in the meeting. People with disabilities also have opportunity to partake in interview or work assembly without getting in trouble of transporting. Another reason is that during pandemics like COVID-19, online meeting is the best option to stay safe. Although keeping distance and wearing masks during a face to face meeting does follow obediently rules of social-distancing, the proportion of contacting ill people will be reduced more if taking meeting through the internet.

However, some disadvantages of this kind of meeting still exist. The most potential downside is having poor internet connection during the session. It causes the disruption and abeyance in important discussions. Also, sometimes accidents like, for example, family members or pets disturb during speech can occur and lead to bad impression or annoyance for people on the other side.

All things considered, organizing assembly through the internet brings many advantages. Despite some disadvantages is existing, the upsides of this phenomenon are far more influencing.