Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only government and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

During recent years, evironmental problems and how to solve it has become one passionate topic. There are some people express an idea that only government and large companies can significantly improve the situation, rather than individuals. To a large extent, I disapprove this point of view.

It is undeniable that environmental problems can only be solved with the co-operation between the state and the citizens. Authorities play a major part by making policies about preserving and improving environment. Some of possible policies are taxing vehicles which emit extensive toxic gas, or fining people harshly for littering. Also, they can provide education in schools and local areas about what to do in favor of preserving the environment. Large companies, who are willing to protect the nature, can follow the law, and invest in projects of creating eco-friendly products along with the governments.

Aside from that, the residents can contribute eagerly in these improving process by obeying the rules of the state. It is essential that people to follow goverment requirements in terms of strictly and orderly protect the nature. For example, people can take the initiative in adjusting daily habits of waste disposal to protect the environment, such as following the three R's principle and using environmentally-friendly products as much as possible. Besides that, citizens can raise funds for afforestation, arrange days of garbage collecting and sorting, planting days or meetings of sharing methods of making environment better in local regions.

In sum up, improving the environment is a job not only for the government and large company, but also for individuals to deal with. Since environmental issue affects everyone's lives, it is not solely someone's responsibility. It is important that people needs to be aware of the problems and unite with the authorities in solving those issues.