Marketing and promotion is the key to a successful business.

To what extent do you agree?

Amidst competitive environment, business are looking for new ways they can stand out among their rivals. In order to address this issue, the question is often raised in corporate world: how important is marketing for business? Most of so-called “progressive experts” posit that marketing harms more than benefit. I, however, strongly disagree with this position and, instead, argue that marketing is one of the most important part of the business due to three important service marketing provide: making product known to the public, creating reputation in the market and strategies to lure the customer using different tactic.

First of all, the main reason why marketing and production is vital for successful business is that it helps in sales of product and service by making them widely known. As we know, the main objective of any business company is to generate profit through optimization of supply according to demand. The way company generate profit is that people should consume the product company manufacture. In order to lure the customer to buy their commodities, the product should be made well-known. To think that people will automatically know your product will be foolishness given that there are many similar product in the market they can buy rather than meticulously searching for new company for that commodity. Marketing is wholesome branch of business which address this issue. Through advertisement and promotion in different platform, the product will be universal and it ,in return, will maximize the profit of the company.

Second of all, marketing is significant aspect of any business because it helps creating brand name and reputation in the market. Reputation and brand name is important because people prefer trusted brand rather than ordinary in terms of quality. Let us take an example of apple company. It has been best seller of smart phone in last ten years although there are companies who sell far advanced smart phones with less price than that of IPhone. It is due to marketing strategies applied by them to achieve this fete. So, marketing helps to create better reputation of the company. This process can be prompted by touting unique characteristic of the product. This way unique demand for the customer can be fulfilled.

However, some so-called “experts” endorse that heavy investment in marketing will degrade the quality of the product resulting in less sales of the product. In other hand, this statement does not hold water because marketing actually accompanies different strategies to lure customers by researching present demand and trend of customer preferences and modifying the product according to their needs. The customers are more enticed to modified unique features rather than old one. These marketing strategies helps to maximize the sales and return value for the money invested in it.

In conclusion, on contrary to most of the experts, I contend that marketing is actually worth invested in as it helps to generate income to the company by various ways: making product and service widely known, creating band name for company and modifying product itself to increase sales.