Millions of tourists visit places of natural beauty (mountains, lakes and beaches) every year. However, they sometimes leave rubbish behind in these places.

Why has this happened? What can be done to solve the problem?

Natural scenery attracts large numbers of sightseers, but after their leaving, there are much rubbish left in these places. This essay will discuss the reasons for the problem and offer some solutions.

There are two main reasons for this problem. The principal reason is that tourists are unaware of environmental protection and responsibility. Without education from schools or media, the tourist who always litter everywhere including mountains, lakes and beaches think littering is not harmful to themselves now and it is convenient for them to drop litter everywhere. As a result, rubbish can be easily found in places of natural beauty. The second reason for the problem is the management issues of natural scenery areas. For example, few garbage cans placed in the natural attractions, sightseers do not find them to drop litter. Therefore, they have to litter everywhere. Meanwhile, when seeing tourist dropping litter, the employees working in natural attractions do not prevent the tourists from the bad behavior, warn them not to litter in time, and even educate them about environmental protection.

There are various measures that can be taken to address the problem. Public environmental protection programs provided by the media and schools could be funded by governments, while littering everywhere including natural attractions should be heavily fined. As individuals, we can change the situation by doing things as simple as dropping rubbish in garbage cans while touring the attractions or walking outside. Also, we should do our best to stop people littering in the natural attraction areas. Seeing other tourists dropping litter, we should try to prevent them and make them drop it into rubbish cans, but if they ignore us and continue to drop litter, we can help them to drop rubbish into cans. At least, the natural attractions are still clean and pretty.

In conclusion, there are various reasons for litter left in natural scenery and a wide range of measures need to be tackle this problem.