Some people think that secondary school students should study international news as a school subject, but others argue that it would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Connecting with the future of countries, education can always arouse a heated discussion. Recently, people’s opinions have differed about whether middle school students are expected to study internal news as a school subject.

Some people do not think that secondary school students are supposed to study international news as a school subject. It is an extra burden for students to learn internal news as a school subject. For example, so many subjects have to be studied by students during the middle school years, such as math, physics, chemistry, biology, history etc., totally 9 subjects even excluding music, art and PE. With many subjects in schools, students should complete a lot of tasks and homework. As a result, they have a little time to relax and do what they like, so if added a new subject, the international news, students have to squeeze time to study it. The new subject, therefore, is like a huge stone, which weighs students down.

Furthermore, the international news becoming a new school subject, students are not interested and even dislike it. A new school subject means that students are pushed to write uncountable paper and do some presentations with team members, and meanwhile there is a new examination waiting for you. This always makes students stressful. If failing the exam, many students will be hard hit and lose confidence or interests to learn the new subject.

However, others believe that it is beneficial for students to study international news as a school subject because it is easy for students to accept fresh things. Through learning international news, students understand the multiple culture and acknowledge the diverse world. For example, American students are able to know what is the real meaning of the Spring Festival for Chinese and understand implication of the phenomenon that wherever Chinese are, they will do their best to return home with families to celebrate the Spring Festival as Americans celebrate their Christmas Day. Also, Chinese students get the information by international news report that same-sex marriage is legal in many countries all over the world.

I personally believe studying international news is a good thing for students if it is not as a school subject. When students are interested in international news, they are willing to study it, so students are expected to make choices by themselves.