Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important problems affecting our society today will be solved in our lifetime.

Society’s problems occur every day, but science develops and technology updates day after day, and to be optimistic, some problems affecting our society today can be solved in our lifetime. However, I, in reality, do not think the most important problems can be fixed in our lifetime. Such as environmental problems and health problems.

Recent decades, environmental problems have raised attention throughout the globe. For example, the global temperature is increasing slightly, called global warming, which will make the glaciers melt. With the glaciers melting, the sea level will go up, and this will cause that some coastal cities, such as Shang Hai and New York, will be flooded, which is harmful to environment and humans. Scientists and experts declare it is caused by greenhouse effect, which means we give off too much carbon dioxide to the atmosphere. Therefore, countries reach agreement to limit the emission of the greenhouse gas and encourage people to do something eco-friendly, such as taking public transportation and using recyclable materials. However, these methods cannot prevent the temperature from increasing, which keeps rising at a slow speed.

Health issues connect with everyone. It has been several centuries since we fought with diseases. Some sickness becomes extinct because medical scientists conquer them, but some diseases have never been conquered. For example, when it comes to HIV, almost people are scared of it, because even now there is no approach to treating it. Experts have continued to study AIDS which destroys human immune system since it appeared. However, the disease spreads all over the world and millions of people are infected. Once being infected, the sick will become weaker and weaker day after day until they die. What people can do is just to wait for medical scientists to work out useful ways to treat the disease.

In conclusion, in my opinion, some problems can be settled gradually in our lifetime, but the most significant issues affecting our society today will not be fixed in our lifetime and humans and those issues will co-exist in the space.