Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people, therefore, think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely acknowledged that there are only a number of majors needed by societies. Accordingly, many people believe that students studying these majors ought to be financed university fees by governments, while those joining in less necessary subjects should pay for themselves. In my opinion, whether the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages should be carefully considered.

On the one hand, providing students studying crucial major of specializations with their university fees may help them reduce financial burdens. Indeed, besides study fees, a myriad of students have to make money after stressful hours at school in order to afford their personal needs. Obvious examples of that are renting and living fees. Therefore, assisting students who pursue important fields of study will be able to help them concentrate on their studies.

On the other hand, this policy seems to bring more negative effects than people expected. First off, there might be objections from other students due to this unfair treatment. Undoubtedly, students studying less significant subjects may think that they are underestimated by communities, as well as their future careers. As a result, this would lead to unexpected consequences, students trained in irrelevant domains might leave schools so as to show their disagreement. Moreover, since the policy will be beneficial for their budgets if they are a part of certain majors, more and more individuals will apply for these departments at universities. Gradually, that can cause an imbalance of employment in society. Without a doubt, there will be majors which include a higher number of specialists and workers than others; therefore leading to the downturn of societies.

To sum up, it is obvious that there will be needs for a number of majors which are crucial to communities. There is a policy that governments should assist students pursuing these fields with university fees, and ignore students in other departments. In this essay. I mentioned unfair and economic influences as reasons to disagree with this policy. Finally, each major has various contributions to society's economies; so it is reasonable to respect all specialists from different fields.