Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others.

Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are need by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding.

Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Part of the society argue that the present civilisation only require experts in some areas, and not in others. Thus, it is said that university fees for subjects that are considered as necessary should be free and the opposite is said to the less popular fields. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this policy would outweigh the upsides.

On the one hand, if this educational policy is imposed, it will still have certain merits. By eliminating all costs for university curriculum of the need-by-society subjects, there would be more students and parents pay attention to these subjects, which subsequently would lead to a rapid rise in the number of specialists when the students themselves graduate. As a result, there would be more labour for future research into important issues, such as solving the conundrum related to environment and climate change, whose process would be accelerated due to the increase in labour.

On the other hand, i myself opine that there is no such "useless" field as part of the society suppose, and it would be unfair for those who are dedicated in the professions that are considered as "less relevant" by people. Despite objections raised by the majority, the advantages these minors have brought to humanity so far are undeniable. To exemplify, research into the past (history) is generally viewed as having few contributions to the human race's development, however, these findings are proved to have played an irreplaceable role in clarifying national borders as well as ease the war frictions between countries. In this regard, i reckon that these minors are not fully irrelevant as they have always been seen.

In conclusion, it is obvious that some subjects which are highly needed in modern societies ought to be stimulated by numerous ways. Then again, i think this educational policy is not so rational and should not be approved owing to some demerits i have discussed.