"In the modern world, it is possible to shop,work and communicate with people via the internet without any face-to-face contact with others. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?""In the modern world, it is possible to shop,work and communicate with people via the internet without any face-to-face contact with others. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?"

Nowadays communication using modern technology is becoming more and more popular. Interpersonal relations are being replaced with online chats and Skype calls. Shopping, work, education, all can be done using the internet. On the one side, I believe it has many advantages as makes the world and its resources more accessible but on the other, it negatively affects our social interactions.

Growing popularity of internet transferred many of our communications from face-to-face to online platforms. Most people are fluent in using WhatsApp, has an Amazon in Prime account and posts videos on Tick Tock. But there are disadvantage to this growing trend that can not be omitted. All of these applications reduce real-life communication. As a result feedback, we naturally and instantly receive while interacting with others is missing. This evenement results in reduced development of social skills, like empathy, reading facial expression and body language. Furthermore, it might even result in panic disorders and social anxiety triggered by a sudden need of real-life communication.

But advantages are by far more prominent. Development of the internet made the world more accessible. Work meetings can be run across the world simultaneously, shopping can be done with a few clicks. This progress has opened up a new possibilities for all, but most evidently for disabled people, as they can have access to resources previously unavailable eg, online shopping, virtual tours etc. The value of development of the internet has become particularly obvious recently when the world faced Covid-19 pandemic and face-to-face communication has been often impossible, at best restricted. Thanks to online services vulnerable people have been able to purchase their food, families have stayed close together and for children, it has been possible to access education.

In conclusion, even though the reduction of face-to-face contact might reduce people's interpersonal skills, it is a risk worth taking as opportunities coming with the development of online services, are by far more valuable. Access to the internet lets people experience the world in the ways previously inaccessible.