As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Over the last few years, the world of education has developed by digitalization of the teaching tools and learning methods. Even though this change is not visible in some schools, it is recognized in various media that this innovation brings positive outcomes. Moreover, the replacement of the textbook is assumed to bring advances to universities. I believe that the drawbacks do outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, the privilege of implementing digital learning would be apparent in terms of efficiency of the time. Additionally, the features that are provided by the e-reader may be helpful and effective for autonomous learning. This evidenced by the fact that digital materials can easily be saved in the form of soft files that could be accessed quickly in any condition, and thus, by the internet support, it would ease the searching of the materials. Certainly, the iPad device offers a bookmark feature for helping readers to remember the last page they read.

On the other hand, the absence of specific skills may lead to unwanted results. Firstly, misinformation that could happen due to inability to shift resources. Secondly, the unseen problem of radiation from electronic devices. For instance,

when a student try to surf the web, it would likely millions articles appear, that would require an ability of filtering the contents. Furthermore, if the screen time passes the normal time, the UV light that is radiated will hurt the eyes.

In brief, although the advantages appear to be significant, the detrimental effect is noteworthy to be considered. It seems to be advisable that the utilization of the digital reader is to be limited.