More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a trend of an increasingly large number of parents permitting their young ones to pass time on electronics devices like tablets and computers, thinking that they ought to inculcate technological skills. This certainly has plus as well as minus points.

It is true that allowing children to play on electronic gadgets will acquaint them with the latest technology and developments. It is essential for them to be aware of the current technology based games. Additionally, such activities keep children busy and occupied, as well as give some free time to parents, especially when both parents are working. Besides, continuous monitoring will not be needed, since they would be playing indoors.

On the contrary, using mobile devices has a negetive impact on children’s health. According to a recent survey conducted by the World Health Organization, using electronic devices for long durations can damage children’s eyesight, apart from impacting their mental health when they play violent computer games. It has been observed that children who have more than two hours screen time, have difficulty in sleeping and are unable to get sound sleep. In addition, devoting excessive hours on tablets and computers when allowed by parents, makes them unsocial and unfit to interact with others in a healthy manner. They loose connect with real life situations and may grow up to be a recluse or antisocial element. Such children are often victims of depression and insensitive to the needs of society.

To conclude, according to me, the disadvantages of allowing children to play with electronic gadgets, are far greater than the benefits. It is detrimental to their mental and physical development and social life, albeit providing more time to parents.