More and more people do online shopping. Why is this the situation? What is the effect of online shopping on shops and communities?

Today, with the internet so readily accessible to us, more and more people are turning to online shopping for all their needs. Cloths, shoes, electronics, groceries and even fruit and vegetables can now be purchased via the internet. This essay shall look into the reasons why people are switching to online shopping instead of traditional shopping, and discuss its effects on shops and society.

There are several advantages of shopping online, because of which people are opting for this method of shopping. The first is the ability to shop at a time that is convenient to you, not just when the shops are open. The second advantage of shopping online is that goods are often cheaper as the seller does not have the costs of running a shop and having to pay wages to salespeople, insurance and all the other running costs of a real world business. Online shopping can also be a lot more comfortable than real world shopping, as people do not have to go out in bad weather sometimes.

there are many negative effects of the trend of online shopping on people and society. The main negative of online shopping is that people have to pay shipping costs and have to wait for the items they purchased to be shipped and delivered. Another disadvantages is that they cannot feel or see the item they want to buy. A person's credit card number could be hacked and misused. Finally, societies become more aloof as people do not come out for shopping, which is an opportunity to bump into someone you know and is a chance to socialize.

To sum up, the main reasons of shopping online are convenience and cost saving, which are also the positive effects. There are many negative effects on the local shops and societies. However, despite the negatives, I believes that online shopping is here to say and prosper.