More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country.

Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks.

Recent decades have witnessed a tremendous increase in the number of students studying abroad in higher education. Although there can be no doubt that the student getting education overseas will face countless challenges, the benefits of their new journey would outweigh the detriments before they realize that.

There are several drawbacks that students need to deal with when studying overseas. Firstly, living away from home has always been challenging for young pupils because they have to become breadwinners and homemakers at the same and first time in their life. For example, they have to find accommodation and pay bills to meet their basic needs. Additionally, culture shock, as well as the language barrier, can cause difficulties as they are likely to find it challenging to get on well with a new community. In some cases, homesickness may worsen the students' mentality if they are not capable of embracing and taking care of loneliness which often makes them suffer at heart.

On the other hand, these disadvantages mentioned above are inevitable because they will enhance their capability to overcome adversities in life. This, indeed, is immensely beneficial for several reasons. While they immerse themself in a new language and different customs, their survival adaptability takes them out of their comfort zone and broadens their horizons. At the time the students procure a qualification of a prestigious university, they also have enough mental strength to open the door leading to better job opportunities or the pursuit of happiness. Furthermore, the distance will make their heart grow fonder to their beloved ones. Meanwhile, their emotional intelligence will be significantly strengthened without their realization.

In brief, I would argue that the merits of studying overseas unequivocally overshadow the drawbacks.