More people use their own car rather than public transport. So it is up to the government to encourage people to use buses and trains instead. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people nowadays using their private vehicles to go to work or other activities rather than using the public transport system. That’s why the amount of private cars has been claimed to be traffic congestion and air pollution in many countries. So, I completely agree with the idea that the government should advise people to use public transport instead of using their own cars.

When we talk about the benefits of using public transport, it helps people financially save money. According to the researchers taking public transportation instead of owning a vehicle can save on average nearly $10000 a year and people can save other expenses related to their private cars like maintenance, parking and expensive fuel price. Also, taking the train, bus and trams are safer than driving a car because there are less or no accidents occurs in public transport than car travel does. In addition, most the public transportations and related transit centres have a high level of security system which can help to reduce crimes.

On the other hand, traffic congestion is one of a common situation that most counties are suffering from. The government can directly motivate people to use public transport by introducing the considerable price of fares and season tickets. For example, they can give the concession card to the school children and senior citizens in the country and introducing the weekend reduced fare can help people to travel in lower price. Another possible idea is that advertising on newspaper and television about what will happen when drink and drive can be a help to society to more attract public transportation and reduce fatal accidents.

Finally, I believe public transportation is useful in both economical and physical health of individuals and it brings financial benefit to communities and it provides various job opportunities to the people which government should more consider and encourage to the society.