Most countries want to improve the standard of living through economic development; however, others think the social value is lost as a result of economic development. To what extend do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh its disadvantages?

It has been controversial whether focusing mainly on economic system would damage the social value in many countries. In my opinion, I believe that the benefits gained from this economic development outweigh sufficiently the disadvantages.

To begin with, there are a few drawbacks when countries only concentrate on their economy. As governments decide to pay more attention on making the most profit for their budget, the rising proportion of low-income people would be left out and not be seriously accounted. Consequently, the morality in this aspect is certainly downgraded. Another setback of economic-oriented development is that such system would increase the gap between the rich and the poor. Most individuals who involve in countries’ large businesses are likely the ones to receive higher profit, which means these people will get richer while the poor stays the same. As a result, these negative sides set the social value to a lower level.

Fortunately, this system still deliver positive impacts on people’s life standard to some extent. Firstly, enriching the economy will result in more money which will then be used to create more jobs or sponsored the public health care and education for the residents. This means the poor society is receiving the subsequent effect of the economic development to support their living standard. Secondly, with a stronger economy, governments have the reason to reduce taxes imposing on the residents. Thus, low-income households are now somewhat more relieved from the money burden. To sum up, every single person will be beneficial from the economic development.

In conclusion, I believe the advantages of concentrating on making more profit of many countries around the world win over its disadvantages.