Most of the employers prefer academic qualification rather than life experience or personal qualities when looking for new employees. Why does it happening and is it a positive or negative development

Many employers are convinced by seeing the higher educational achievement than practical experience in the relative field while interviewing for a job. Academic qualifications for example degree from a tertiary level institution are regarded as best attributes of a candidate and it is the perception that these candidates will serve at the best interest of the companies. In my opinion, experiences in the relative field is also important to perform at full potential, however, it is often undermined. This trend brings a negative development.

It is evident that university degree or degree from a reputable educational institute is highly admired by the employer. They believe that these employees are an asset to the companies and the will play a key role in the growth of the organization. In addition, planning and execution of decision will be aided by their thoughtful opinion. However, a degree does not confer to understand the pulse of the team player which usually an employee developed through work experience over a period of time. For example, an experienced supervisor is confident to deal with conflict of interest among the employee, who may not have a high academic degree.

Similarly, a person attains critical thinking and problem solving ability are also depend on successful handling of the similar situation in past. It is not uncommon that many automobile technicians develop expertise through work despite the lack of institutional qualification in automobile technology.

It is understandable that certain occupation requires a high level of academic qualification, such as scientist, researcher and medical professional. If knowledge is only pre-requisite for a job offer, which brings a negative growth in the society, particularly in many parts of the world where a large no of people do not get the opportunity for higher education. It will increase the rate of unemployment and slow the growth of the economy which in turn may impact the quality of life. They learn by experience and their expertise is praiseworthy.

In conclusion, despite the importance of academic qualification, work experience is need to be considered for employment, otherwise it will affect the growth of a country in many ways.