New parents should attend parenting courses to bring up their children well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that more and more people sign parenting courses before or on pregnancy so that can be capable of raising the newborns healthily. I totally agree that new mothers and fathers should take part in those course as they would do good to both parents and children.

To begin with, new parents can lack both knowledge and experience about the parenting situation they are coping with. When it is the very first time women and men become parents, they have tons of lessons to learn to bring up their first children such as what kinds of milk are good for their health or how to bathe the babies correctly and so on. As brand new parents, there are many situations happening which they do not expect or are prepared enough for. Moreover, because they have not done it before, new mothers and fathers have zero experience on how to raise a child properly, consequently, they may not react fast when need to or even worse, they make mistakes. As newborn babies are extremely fragile and vulnerable, they need to be cared about with much love and attention, therefore, parents’ small mistakes can affect the child greatly.

Secondly, parenting courses are designed professionally to help parents to gain knowledge about both the child and the parents’ physical and mental health. The mothers learn how to take care of themselves as well as the babies the right way while the fathers learn how to take care of them both and gain love from them. Physical health aside, on and after bearing children, women can easily fall to depression so they truly need their other half to encourage and keep an eye on them so that parents can both overcome the hardship of being parents for the first time. This can strengthen the parents’ love towards each other as well as the family close relationship. Besides, when join the parenting courses, the mothers and fathers can make some friends who are trying to handle the same things as them. Those friends can help them find out solution for the problems they face with or simply be an ear for them to share their feeling through talking and give them strength.

In conclusion, I believe that taking part in parenting courses should be encouraged because these can widen the parents’ knowledge and experience so that they can grow their children physically and mentally healthy.