Some people say that arts subjects such as painting or drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many high school around the world include arts like drawing, painting or sculpture as one of the subjects, both optional or compulsory course. While there are some arguments in favor of making arts subjects compulsory, I strongly believe that those should not be mandatory for students at high schools.

To begin with, I would argue that arts subjects may not for every students as arts usually come with talent. It means that some people is gifted to have artistic molecules in their blood since born while others cannot achieve this kind of talent all their life. Besides, arts usually come together with interest and passion as well. However, some students show no interest in drawing or painting courses as they are keen on some other subjects or activities. For example, the captain of the football team of the school do not want to attend arts class because he thinks that spending an hour to draw a picture is a waste of time while he can use that time to practice more on the field he loves.

Secondly, as art is one of the subjects, the teachers have to assess the results of the students taking part in the courses. However, it is difficult to set a discipline to grade the pupils’ art works and it heavily depends on the teachers’ personal view. Therefore, the students may not be satisfied with the marks when they think that the teachers do not understand their ideas on the paintings or how much they struggle to sing a song when they are tone-deaf. Moreover, if the arts class is compulsory, it can affect the school results of the students so they can feel unfair as they find it not really important for them to develop.

In conclusion, while that arts subjects are helpful for children to grow up mentally well, I believe those subjects should be optional so that they will not put more pressure on students.