Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children. Others think parents needn’t do that as children can read books or watch TV, movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that modern children are capable of reading books or watching TV programs all by themselves. While some argue that there is no need for parents to keep reading books or telling stories to their children, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint.

To begin with, there is an uncertainty that children can read correctly and effectively by themselves. With thousands of books and TV programs existing, they may find it difficult to choose the right kinds of books or programs to enjoy while they also have to identify and stay away the toxic or misleading materials. For example, the children can be easily attracted by an exciting short movie which imply a cruel message about racist hidden behind stunning actors and colorful set of the movie, so they innocently learn the wrong way of treating people in the society. Besides, when children read or watch TV on their own, they only choose some aspects they want to experience or their solely aim is for enjoyment rather than learning so the educational motivation is lack.

On the other hand, when fathers or mothers read for their children, they always make sure to choose the appropriate stories which are helpful for the children’s development. Not only do parents shape the personality of the children from very early period of their childhood but they can also encourage the children to express their own viewpoint on many aspects of life which is mentioned in the stories. This cannot be achieved if the children read books or watch TV on their own as they would keep every thoughts in their mind and have no intention of telling others how they see things. Moreover, with the less and less time parents can spend with their children nowadays, the moment when they tell the children stories can strengthen the family relationship which can help widen the children’s knowledge as well as build up their mental strength.

In conclusion, although the children can be smart enough to read books or watch TV program on their own, parents should not drop telling them stories so that they both can benefit.