Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that watching TV can help the students study easier and much better. While some argue that children should be allowed to use television not only at home but at school as well, I only partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, the fact that children are encouraged to watch TV can be attribute to two reasons. Firstly, there are thousands of useful programs from science to humanity subjects on TV, consequently, the students can watch some programs to expand their knowledge and skills which may include the aspects their teachers may not aware of or they will not obtain at school. Even with some common subjects, TV programs can help both pupils and teachers to achieve the lesson outcomes much easier. For example, on history class, the teacher can put on the TV documentary for the students to observe the progress of the world war which is much thoroughly understood by the children. Besides, the time at school is limited but the students have many other activities to take part in so they should be given permission to watch TV program at home latter if they cannot finish watching the program at school. The teachers may attach some tasks together with encouraging pupils to watch TV program to improve the effectiveness of this way of learning.

On the other hand, TV programs carry huge sources of entertainment which can distract children from learning therefore they achieve no knowledge at all. For example, while searching for a specific program to study, the students can come across an amusing show or an attractive rom-com, consequently, they get lost on the way and forget their aim to study. Moreover, spending too much time watching TV, even though that has been done for the sake of studying, can do harm to the children’s health. In terms of short term effect, watch television so frequently can lead to the students’ eyes illness such as short-sighted or backache as they sit down for too long. In addition, this action can become a habit so the children cut down their time playing sports and other physical activities which will weaken their health condition in a long run.

In conclusion, watching TV can be helpful for the students to study much more effectively but this should be done under guidance of the teachers to make sure the learning outcomes can be obtained correctly.