Nowadays, celebrities increasingly have the status of role models, in particular for younger people. Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the entertainment industry is more and more developed, the number of celebrities increase rapidly. Most people especially teenagers tend to consider them as their role models. In my opinion, this phenomenon leaves both positive and also negative impacts on fans.

On the one hand, we cannot deny the benefits when famous stars become the role models of young people. Honestly, all celebrities are talented ones. They have their own extraordinary abilities and skills in a certain section. It also means famous people have to always work hard and practice these abilities day by day to be able to become perfect and famous in the fans’ hearts. So, celebrities with good qualities and talents absolutely can be role models for young people. They will contribute to adolescents’ inspiration in their lives. They can learn some good points from their idols like diligence or talents, which will help them realize and promote their aptitude. Besides, celebrities’ behavior is also something that is worth learning. Famous ones live a life that is always noticed by fans as well as people around. So, all time, they have to behave in a proper and ethical manner. Gradually, they will form good moral habits, or do charity works to help everyone. These are something that people should imitate when they consider any famous star as their role model. In the world, there are a lot of celebrities who deserve to be learned such as football star Ronaldo, actress Angela Jolie, or maybe billionaire Bill Gate, …

On the other hand, some drawbacks still exist in the situation that celebrities increasingly have the status of role models. Actually, not all famous people have good personalities. Today, the development of social networks like Facebook, Instagram has brought many negative effects to adolescents. There are more and more internet phenomena that appear and made many videos with unwholesome content. They use violent actions, bad words, or even commit crimes right on the internet. Their acts badly influence a large number of teenagers. They start to follow and practice those immoral habits in their daily lives. This thing leads to many crimes at a very young age. Besides, a remarkable thing is that younger people go crazy for their idols. They don’t learn from celebrities anymore, but they want to become a duplicate of their idol from gestures, speech, clothes, or even face. These things not only are not beneficial but also waste a lot of time and money. In addition, many young people consider their famous idols as their parents, no one has the right to say something bad about them. Recently, we often encounter cases that young fans have serious wars or quarrels with each other to protect their idols. Generally, overestimating a celebrity will also bring negative results.

In conclusion, regarding celebrities as role models have both positive and negative influences. Whether beneficial or harmful, it entirely depends on how people learn from their idols. we should realize which is good and bad and learn selectively.