Nowadays congestion and traffic jam are a common problem in the cities. Some people believe that widening the roads can be a solution to this problem. Do you agree or disagree? What can be the solutions?

In this jet age of 21st century, the choked urban roads with massive number of vehicles have become worrying concern. Presently, it is argued that expansion of roads can prove to the fruitful to get rid of traffic congestions. Here I would like to discord with the given statement along with providing some remedies to handle this menace.

There are numerous reasons to support my view. To begin with, widening the roads in urban cities to control jams will come with its own disadvantages. For example, in order to carry out the expansion, the trees along with the roads will have to be diminished which in turn will give rise to more serious environmental issues such as air pollution and global warming. Therefore this idea is likely to bring more threat to the ecological balance rather than providing any worthy solution.

Further emphasizing, there will hardly be enough space left for other infrastructures due to the increased sizes of the city roads. To illustrate, the cities basically require various amenities such as shopping malls, parks, metro trains, parking areas and so on to provide a comfortable lifestyle to its dwellers. However, the expansion of roads will cover excessive land areas leaving limited spaces for other buildings and structures. Hence, roads increments do not seem to be appropriate for the overall development of the metropolis.

Now, numerous measures can also be mentioned to overcome this problem. Initially, authorities should aware the folks about the benefits of using public transport as compared to using their personal vehicles to travel. Besides this, car pooling is also a lucrative alternative where four to five people can commute in one automobile rather than each person driving his or her own. As a result, there will be minimal cars or bikes on road which will automatically reduce the congestion problem. What is more, government can impose heavy taxes on families buying more than one vehicle. Consequently, huge number of masses would either be restricted or discouraged to go for multiple cars for their daily usage.

To recapitulate, it can be clearly stated that widening the roads is not feasible idea to completely tackle this issue. However, the awareness among masses and levying taxes can definitely provide permanent solution.