Nowadays environmental problems are too big for individual countries or people to solve. We have reached the stage where we need cooperation on an international level to protect the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The industrialisation has been cited as among the main culprits deteriorating environmental problems in a large-scale. While some contend that citizens and the individual government without any international assistance could minimize the grave consequences of pollution-related problems, I am opposed to this view.

On the one hand, international cooperation on environmental issues is beneficial to the sustainable development of humans and the country. Addressing ice-melting that is exacerbating rising sea levels will indeed protect humans from losing their homes. Take Indonesia as a prime example, the Indonesian authorities along with international organisations are constructing floodwalls alongside the sea to safeguard millions of citizens with inherited disadvantages in Jakarta’s coastal cities from having their homes inundated, which might promote city dwellers in those sea-facing metropolises to improve their financial hardship towards a further prosperous life. Additionally, mounting international campaigns on alleviating the consequences of severe drought might ensure national food security. ASEAN countries, for instance, are calling for China’s collaboration in watering the Mekong River to save cultivation activities of farmlands nearby the described river. This is likely to guarantee domestic rice productivity of Thailand and Vietnam, which will then partly meeting worldwide demands by exporting.

On the other hand, some believe that domestic actions by the government and citizens are an indispensable factor in confronting environmental problems. In practice, the individual government could ease the severe effects of pollution-related problems without outside intervention. Netherland’s white bike scheme is a typical example for other affluent and developing countries to harness since bikes fail to emit carbon dioxide emissions into the environment. What is more, it is consumers who could avoid using plastic shopping bags to protect the pristine environment. This is likely to reduce the number of toxic pollutants from the burning of plastic bags.

In conclusion, although domestic efforts to tackle environmental issues, including encouraging people to commute by bikes and abandoning plastic bags might be effective to some extents, it is my firm conviction that this should be done by global cooperation.