Nowadays environmental problems are too big for individual countries or people to solve. We have reached the stage where we need cooperation on an international level to protect the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The discussion heats about whether individual countries or international cooperation is mandatory to resolve environmental issues. I firmly agree that the extent of environmental issues is extremely big to alleviate individually and the countries or people should cooperate on a global level so as to save the nature.

The international cooperation is a preferred option under some circumstances. First and foremost, the scale of the disaster makes it difficult for an individual nation; no matter it is a developed country or developing nation, to settle complicated environmental issues. Bush fires in Australia, for example, which almost destroyed half of the Australian forests and a quarter of Koala species, was not possible to tackle without the collaboration of neighbouring countries. Secondly, the international alignment has a financial advantage to develop cutting-edge technologies to address these ecological problems, which would obviously increase financial pressure for a country itself, especially, for a third-world country.

Global environmental problems require different countries to collaborate with. Certain issues, such as climate change, depletion of the ozone layer, global warming and extinction of some animal species, are unlikely to be solved without international cooperation. Kyoto Protocol Agreement, for example, establishes a standard internationally to require different countries to reduce their greenhouse emissions. In this case, a single nation's effort is much less significant than a group contribution. It is undeniable the participation of individuals and local authorities is crucial. In the case of environmental conditions, such as waste pollution, noise pollution and deforestation, in particular regions, certain governmental policies work much better than international laws. However, in a global term, without the involvement of global organizations, some local governments show reluctance to deal with those issues.

To conclude the whole discussion, I would like to re-assert that international cooperation is crucial in most situations. Therefore, in order to solve most of the environmental problems, global and local ecological issues, cooperation with international organizations and other countries, I believe, is more practical and advantageous.