Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for companies or organisations. What might this be the cause? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The choice of where to work has taken a new turn in this era. A handful of people now prefer to work for themselves instead of being hired by companies or organizations. The reason for this may be because of lack of job satisfaction and inability to be flexible. There are some drawbacks associated with being a sole entrepreneur however which will be discussed in this essay.

One of the factors responsible for people choosing to work for themselves is because they are not satisfied working for other people. This may be because they earn much less income from the monthly salaries paid by companies or organizations or that the salaries is just not enough for their budget. For example, my uncle who worked

as a teacher in a secondary school earned a monthly income of #40,000. He later resigned and started a business where he makes a profit of #50,000 per day. He is satisfied with this job because he earns more than when he was a teacher. Another major reason is lack of flexibility in white-collar jobs which eventually leads to depression. People employed by companies or some organizations are usually very busy with their jobs that they rarely have quality time for their families or even leisure. For example, one my colleague who is a banker, leaves home as early as 5am in the morning and return around 8pm at night completely exhausted. She constantly had misunderstanding with her husband as a result of this which ultimately lead to a divorce.

Although, there are many upsides of being self-employed, they are not without downsides too. One major disadvantage is the lack of pension scheme for the self-employed. When people get old and are no longer able to carry on with their businesses, the business may fold up and there may not be means of income any more.

For instance, a survey carried out in South Africa in 2010, showed that 76% of aged people who were sole

entrepreneurs lived a very poor life after retirement. This was because there was no pension allowance available to them.

In conclusion, although individuals now opt to be self-employed because of lack of job satisfaction and flexibility associated with being employed by companies. There is also the demerit of not being entitled to pension if one chooses to be personally- employed.