Nowadays many people complain that they have difficulties getting enough sleep. What problems can lack sleep cause?

It is complained by many people that debilitating diseases can result from sleep deprivation. However, this could be mitigated by reducing screen stimulation to help people to fall asleep faster.

Experiencing undersleeping affects one’s mental condition, leading to the inability to function daily. Simply put, the shorter one’s length of sleep is, the higher the cortisol hormone level someone produces due to insufficient rest for the brain. The increased cortisol hormone results in stress and further physical well-being. According to a study conducted by McKinsey in 2019, around 70% of Jakarta workers had a gastric problem due to feeling stress after pulling an all-nighter at the office and got only 5 hours of sleep throughout the years. This reduced their work performance score by more than 20% in one quarter. Hence, sleep deprivation eliminates the ability to function in the workplace.

Nonetheless, lacking sleep can be mitigated by reducing screen stimulation to raise the amount of melatonin hormone, the hormone of sleepy. This is because people would hardly fall asleep due to the blue light produced by the screen that tricks their brains into assuming they are still at noon. Hence, reducing blue light can lead to falling asleep faster. For instance, an experiment done by the NCBI suggested that around 50% of 1000 respondents admit to sleeping 3 hours earlier after reducing their screen time by 2 hours per day throughout a month. The research found an increase in respondents’ melatonin hormone production after lowering their screen exposure for a certain period. Thus, screen time restriction is necessary to help people fall asleep faster.

To conclude, even though undersleeping can be prevented by eliminating screen time, it inevitably leads to mental health problems. Hence, using a feature to limit screen time is necessary.