Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars, and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern times, purchasing a huge amount of money to own well-known brands has been in vogue. There are numerous reasons why people are currently chasing the phenomena. I find myself complete agreement with the assertion that the popularity of the trend is a disadvantage development.

To begin with, the reasons of a mounting number of customers allocating their budgets to buy well-known brand names are simple to explain. Firstly, the era of rapidly technological development, have offered a wide range of favorable conditions for marketing departments of giant corporations to easily advertise their commodities far and wide to targeted customers. By doing so, people are easily swayed by commercial advertisements and are willing to buy goods impulsively. Secondly, the possession of luxury and valuable stuffs such as a BMW car or a Gucci handbag, for example, likely demonstrate one’s taste in fashion and advertise their own wealth to others, more precisely, it is likely to prove one’s social status. Furthermore, the idea behind owing a brand name may be to attract populace’s attention and receive others admiration and to make other jealous.

However, I would argue that the phenomenon is an entirely negative development to some extent. Trying to squander savings on designer goods which some people cannot afford make them being burdened massive debts. Which I mean, this put them to serious trouble, likely leading to illegal actions like smuggling which help them earn expectedly huge amount of money. From a social perspective, the arguing trend are very dangerous, encouraging people, especially youngsters being robbers to steal the latest cell phones from people on the streets. The aforementioned disadvantages may contribute to significantly affect social stability.

In conclusion, there are some curial reasons to explain why people are ambitious for owning brand products depending on their own demands and preference. Nevertheless, I think it is one of the worst trend in today’s generation since it is problematic.