Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

It is thought that there are numerous benefits resulting likely being acquire if a nation hosts international sporting events. However, detractors claim that this may not be as beneficial as initial supposes. With respect to this essay, I will discuss both aspects of this issue, before giving my own perspective.

Firstly, setting up widely televised sports events may bring wealth of advantage to the hosted country. One of the most opt-cited rationale is that by organizing international sports competitions, a country would have global chances to demonstrate the capacity of hosting internationally considerate sports events. If the event proceeds without difficulties, the host nation’s international reputation may be significantly proved, its image as a competent organizer may be built up. Both of which could make an importance to create beneficial values in diplomatic terms. Furthermore, these internationally broadcasted sporting events may also play crucial role to allow a hosting nation promote its culture and customs far and wide through the live broadcasted events. By doing so, the country may attract loads of tourists all over the world which may be a surge in an amount of profit in the tourism sector.

In spite of such advantages, there are also inevitable drawbacks that an organizing country has to consider seriously. The prominence of which is that the financial source of organizing events. Globally sporting events are oftentimes constructed with prohibitively expensive expenses because a sum of money may be earmarked to promote event, building infrastructure, especially preparing necessary facilities and equipment decorating for that sporting competitions. All of which play an important role to ensure the smooth operation of the event. An organizer who have limited financial sources has to take consideration into this problem as the country may be in trouble of corruption and accusations of misspending. Moreover, the problems of finance may have adverse impacts on competitions resulting in widespread discontents among populace which leads to erode the trust of their citizens and even some parts of the world.

Briefly, I think that countries should consider carefully whether they have enough competences in financial aspects to assume as a host organizing globally sporting events or not. It is more beneficial that they can be charge of a host. By contrast, if the condition is not allowed, the sporting event may be of detriment to the social fabric of the host country.