Nowadays many young people are often spending their free time in a shopping center. This has a negative effect on the youth and the society to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Nowadays, most juveniles and young adults are spending their leisure time in a shopping centre, and some become a shopaholic. This brings the negative effect on themselves and the development of the whole nations due to the fact that they are the future generation of a country.

To begin with, in the present day, there is increasing concern over the appearance of an individual. For instance, women are likely to have a tendency to buy an expensive dress or jewellery as accessories to help them have a good looking and gain more confident when standing in front of others people. Furthermore, with the advancement of technology and social media, numerous youngsters are easily knowing what their favourite singers or actors dress up. Then, they try to imitate them and buy these expensive clothes by using their parent’s money.

Subsequently, spending so much time and money in a shopping mall lead an individual become addicted to this activity in long run. As a result, they have less valuable time to spend with their family and the opportunity to extend their knowledge by reading books or learning new languages. Moreover, they also miss the opportunity to participate in some social activities such as volunteering which lead to the lack of social skills that helpful in developing their career. On the economy point of views, people who spend too much money on shopping may lead to overwhelming with debt.

In summary, in my opinion, instead of shopping or gossiping, an individual should spend their free time on useful activities such as volunteering or read more books which help them gain more experience to develop a better career.