Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

It has been common for young couples to opt for having later pregnancies and delaying growing their family. There are several reasons for this and a wide range of benefits to the community and parents brought by this trend.

On the one hand, there are good arguments for would-be parents to decide to have a baby later in their life. Firstly, the expense of bringing up a child is significantly costly. Many would-be parents have cited that they are not ready to welcome a new family member because their budgets are tight. Therefore, many choose to wait until they have the necessary resources, including decent accommodation, school fees, for nurturing their children. Moreover, the modern working climate has allowed women the opportunity to go to work, leaving them reluctant to have a child early since they wish to seek education and establish themselves in their jobs and careers.

On the other hand, late pregnancies have brought an abundance of advantages to the mother. It has been proven that there is a positive association between late motherhood and late-life recognition, which highlights the former protects the mother against cognitive decline later in life. Furthermore, children born to older mothers have been shown to stay longer in educational systems and have a better academic performance compared to their peers who were born to younger parents. On top of that, these advantageous outcomes mentioned above subsequently help to boost the well-being of the whole society.

In conclusion, later motherhood is a choice of many families for economic reasons. Mothers’ health and children’s development are the two main benefits derived from this shift.