Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the

reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In recent years, there has been an increasing trend toward delayed parenthood, especially in the developed countries. In this essay, I will provide the explanations for this

rising trend as well as the effects on society and families arising from it.

There are possibly two major reasons why more and more couples are choosing against having children when they are young. Firstly, rather than embarking on parenthood, many consider their successful careers including high salaries and superior positions to be their priority. If they had to share their time for raising a child, their work performance could be negatively affected and therefore their promotion prospects would not be promising. Another driving force behind the decision of parents to have children later may be that they want to lead a fulfilling life. Delaying settling down can allow them to pursue their dreams such as traveling the world, thus enriching their lives.

This tendency could exert several effects on families and the community. As for the former, raising children could be a huge challenge for older parents due to the generation gap. Even though they may have a high socioeconomic status, it may be difficult for them to communicate and relate to their children. Another negative effect worth considering is the potential health risks that both mothers and their children may experience during pregnancy. Scientific evidence shows that pregnant women aged over 35 are more likely to suffer miscarriage, stillbirth, or diabetes, while the child is more at risk of having Down syndrome. This may potentially affect society’s workforce since such children grow up not being able to work.

In conclusion, the rising trend of delayed parenthood can be attributable to the pursuit of career and personal dreams, and this trend may impose some detrimental effects on families and society as a whole.