Nowadays more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face, is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, rather than taking part in direct communication, people tend to do this through the Internet network. Some believe that this phenomenon is beneficial for people while I do state that the disadvantage outweighs these.

Firstly, online socialization can result in negativities in people's daily life. This has been shown that the more addicted to virtual life, the harder development of crucial skills can be gained such as communication skills or problem-solving skills. This is because people spend the majority of their time chatting with others through social platforms like Facebook and Instagram, therefore, being indifferent in interacting with others in reality. As a consequence, it is hard for people to find a good job or building up attachment in relationships afterward.

Additionally, this phenomenon also leads to a detrimental effect on people's psychology. Communication is indeed a very basic demand of each person. If people lack direct communication and emotional support, the lonely feeling and even isolation from society will be deeply rooted in people's minds. For example, many people suffer mental disorders like depression or insomnia, which their physical health even be affected.

Moreover, people choosing online interactions can be exposed to violated privacy. Because of the communication with fake identities or anonymous accounts, the personal information of users is likely to be stolen. Taking the commercial aspect as an example, some people take advantage of this for the wrong purposes such as selling it to third parties at sky-high prices.

In conclusion, there are opposing opinions about whether socialize online is a positive development or not. With these aforementioned ideas, I am subscribed to the view that this kind of communication brings a much greater negative influence.