Nowadays more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face, is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, rather than taking part in direct communication, people tend to do this through the Internet network. Some believe that this phenomenon is beneficial for people while I do state that the disadvantage outweighs these.

Firstly, online socialization can result in negativities in people's daily life. This has been shown that the more addicted to virtual life, the harder development of crucial skills can be gained such as communication skill or problem-solving one. To be exact, people spend the majority of their time chatting with others through social platforms like Facebook and Instagram, therefore, being indifferent in interacting with others in reality. As a consequence, it is hard to build up attachment in relationships or searching for a good job afterward.

Additionally, this phenomenon also leads to a detrimental effect on user's psychology. Communication is indeed a very basic demand of each person. If people lack direct communication and emotional support, the lonely and isolated feeling from society will be deeply rooted in people's minds. Therefore, many people would suffer mental disorders such as depression or insomnia, which make their physical health even be affected.

Moreover, people choosing online interactions can be exposed to the risk of violated privacy. Because of the communication with fake identities or anonymous accounts, the personal information of users is likely to be stolen. Taking the commercial aspect as an example, some people take advantage of this for profitable purposes by selling it to third parties at sky-high prices.

In conclusion, there are opposing opinions about whether socialize online is a positive development or not. With these aforementioned ideas, I am subscribed to the view that this kind of communication brings a much greater negative influence.