Nowadays, most large companies operate multi-nationality. To what extent those companies should have responsibility towards local communities in which they operate?

Currently, globalization is a trend. Therefore, a lot of companies open their subsidiaries in many countries. Although generating profits from new markets is the top priority for each company, they also need to have responsibilities to the host countries.

There are two main reason why multinational companies should conduct their business in a socially responsible manner. Firstly, they have to pay taxes promptly and adequately. As a result, authorities may have more revenue to spend in key fields, especially education, health and infrastructure, which leads to an improvement not only in the quality of life of the whole community but also creating some advantages for enterprises. For example, if the government have money to develop infrastructure such as upgrading public transport system or building new airports, new harbors, etc.…, companies will save time, cost to delivery and receive goods as well as materials. Accordingly, their performance are better and certainly they can earn huge profits.

Secondly, multinational corporations have to protect environment since their activities have effects on it. Without control, production processes may result in serious environment degradation, such as global warming stemming from factory emissions or the irresponsible disposal of industrial waste. If factories installed waste treatment system instead of discharging chemical waste into river, water pollution could be controlled. This will create the fresh environment for the local people as well as the companies’ workers, who contribute to the performance of company. Besides that, the firms can be fined if their activities have negative impacts on the environment. In fact, recently Formosa – a Taiwan firm was fined US 500 million dollars for discharging chemical waste into the ocean by the Vietnamese government.

In conclusion, enterprises can run their business on many countries, they have to have responsibility towards the host countries yet.