Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on society?

In a fast-changing world, several perspectives imply that there is a lack of university students who have a passion about science subjects. In this essay below, I will elucidate the reason behind this phenomenon and its impact on society.

There is a main reason that can specify for this situation. This is because the young individuals who are serving in scientific fields might struggle to make a living. Indeed, academic science activities require numerous efforts, consistences, time, and money to research and find out innovative and creative inventions for humanity. Instead, these durations and budgets can invest such considerable subjects which can apply to earn money when they still study in the university, meanwhile investing in researching and studying science that might not bring many monetary benefits for them in short-term periods. Therefore, students have a tendency to choose such financial and social subjects to monetize faster and cater to their living in the future.

However, this situation also poses a potential negative influence into the society and community. The young generations always have creative ideas and innovations in scientific fields that contribute to the development of humanity. There are several science-technological ideas such as 5G wireless internet, AI, chat GPT, and non-driver cars, for example, be provided by young talents who make contributions to this contemporary era. Without these, people might have several troubles related to connection, flexibility, and wasting time. For instance, without an internet connection, people cannot compromise their partnerships of their company and also have to spend much time visiting them to negotiate rather than utilizing it for more crucial activities such as investing in stocks or enlarging the market shares.

In conclusion, because of material needs related to money, students tend to choose economic and social majors rather than science which can have a hidden impact into the society.