Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is in this case? Is a positive or negative development?

It is true that in today’s world, academic university degrees are considered to be more essential than personal past experiences or characteristics. The leading cause of this phenomenon is the mandatory requirements of specific skills and knowledge in some jobs and there are both positive and negative effects.

In modern society, formal academic training is the only easy reliable way to find an efficient, dependable employee. Firstly, the academic qualifiers show that they have more opportunities to earn career promotion as they have already accomplished how to gain better performance on common skills and educational credentials. Take a medical occupation as an example, a doctor must have distinctive qualifications, which affect that they are qualified to cure people. Secondly, following this trend can save some training time for employee recruiters. Compared to formal academic candidates who are likely ready to start working, the formal staff has to spend time tutoring non-academic applicants how to work properly.

While I agree that these qualifications are extremely important in many circumstances, I also believe that this situation might lead to a negative development in the recruitment process. The positive effect would include the ensure of the quality of the business, as a result, can secure and build the company’s reputation. However, many people who have various degrees still face difficulties dealing with their clients because of a lack of real-life experience. Moreover, the most concerning negative effect is that if disregarding one’s life knowledge and personal qualities, companies may hire the wrong mindset that is incompatible with the company’s culture or long-term development strategy.

In conclusion, although the undeniable benefits of having qualifications are the reason why it is considered the top priority in choosing an employee, I believe that it also leads to some detrimental consequences as well.