Undoubtedly, the number of shopping malls has increased astronomically in major cities and towns. Customers increasingly troop to these shopping centers to purchase goods that are of interest to them. However, the amount of time spent by customers, especially the youth, could culminate in both negative and positive result.

There is no denying the fact that the youth spend a greater chunk of time in shopping malls, closely inspecting one item to another till they find the item of interest to buy.It may be argued that not spending precious time to look at items displayed in shopping malls before buying may lead to purchasing fake or substandard goods. Another argument that might be raised in favour of the youth spending collosus amount of time in shopping malls maybe that the youth readily have an immediate opportunity to purchase items on clearance sale in which prices have been drastically reduced during shopping time among others. However, it must be pointed out that the negative effects of spending too much time in shopping malls far out-weigh the benefits.

In the first place, the attitude of laziness on the part of the youth could be nurtured by prolonged stay in shopping malls. A lot of productive hours would be lost as they youth spend a lot of hours in shopping malls without working. Therefore, the direct effect would be nothing short of low economic out-put. The preponderance of youth unemployment in recent times could be as a result of attitude of laziness on the part of the youth which has a contribution from spending much time at shopping malls and other places.

Additionally, the vice of armed robbery considerably associated with the youth is a twin negative effect that might be associated with youth spending a great deal of time in shopping malls. Some items in display in shopping malls maybe of great interest to the youth but the youth cannot afford to buy those items. For this reason, they youth have no other option than to steal and rob people of monies and other valuables in order to be able to purchase such items in the shopping malls that they crave to have. Consequently, there would be general insecurity in society as people stand a risk of being robbed and killed.

Conclusively, there are benefits derived as they youth spend so much time in shopping malls. Nevertheless, they disadvantages associated with prolonged stay by the youth in shopping malls are worth more considering than ignored.