One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

With the economic growth, the world has witnessed the development in the medical field which brings various effects to humans. The notable impact of this improvement can be mentioned is to long lasting people’s life expectancy. Although it still brings a negative consequence, the advantages of this development will outstrip its drawbacks.

Standing on the negative side, it is undeniable that the older people are, the more risk of getting diseases they have. When humans are over 65 years old, their health resistance will be weakened which then is the opportunity for bacteria and viruses to attack. Especially, during the covid 19 pandemic, older people are prone to get the virus than the young because of weak health with many background diseases.

However, the benefits are still believed to outweigh the disadvantages of the increase in lifetime. Firstly, despite the high age, older people are able to support their children in many ways. For example, they can help to take care of babies which reduces the burden for their children because they are too busy with their work everyday. Moreover, the help of oldsters in houseworks and teaching grandchildren etiquette and culture are really appreciated. Secondly, the government can benefit from the elderly. Older people can be more productive due to the increase in retirement age or hiring for non-labour jobs. In Vietnam, for instance, after retiring from their former jobs, many senior people tend to work at commune people's committees.

In conclusion, in spite of the drawbacks of long life expectancy, I believe that the upsides still get over these harms.