One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, besides the growth of technology, the medical care has also developed, which led to the longer life of people and enhanced the life span. While I accept that aging population can sometimes have a positive effect on social life, I believe that they are more likely to have a harmful impact.

On the one hand, some people claim that an increase in life’s duration can cause negative influences. When old people live longer, they will put high pressures on the economic system. For example, they could not create any value but they cost a large amount of budget for taking care of the elderly and welfare instead of investing in other sectors of the economic system. Besides, the ageing population will be a strong driver for healthcare demand, as the elderly require a higher intensity of medical care and can prolong a long period of hospitalization , which caused the shortage of hospital beds.

On the other hand, there are several advantages when people’s life is longer. Firstly, a community with the elderly who have a good state of health play a major role enhancing a sustainable development of a society. In fact, young people will be happy as their parents, grandparents are healthy. It can be said that the improvement of medical care makes a better life for all citizens. Secondly, they can contribute effectively to the development of the economy because the elderly are always enormous sources of knowledge and experience and they are able to create more enhanced productivity

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential disadvantages of elderly population are more significant than the possible benefits.