The only way to improve safety in our roads is to give stricter punishments to driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, road safety has become a global issue around the world. Therefore, punishing road offenders with stricter penalties is believed to be the only measure to enhance safety on roads. I totally disagree with this view as this way can be one of the numerous solutions to the problem concerned.

To begin with, there are several valid reasons why harder punishments can solve road issues. If the law in a particular country says to make the existing punishments tougher to improve the safety on roads, this can discourage drivers to offend. Higher penalty fees, for example, can be a burden for some people on a budget, or even imprisonment can also lower some reputable people’s status among others. However, this is not the only solution to make road safety better.

There are other alternatives in which safety can be advanced. Firstly, driving lessons should be enhanced. They should include better explanations of road infrastructures, the consequences of breaking the law, more practice with professional tutors, and much stricter tests in the end. This type of lessons, in turn, can help possible drivers not to offend on roads, improving safety. Another way is to increase the minimum age of having a license and driving. This is because young drivers are usually emotionally unstable, and they can drive recklessly, causing road offences as a result. For instance, in the USA, 16-year-old people can drive, thus recording around 36 000 road accidents each year. When this measure is introduced, roads can be secure to some extent.

To conclude, although imposing stricter sentences to lawbreakers can make roads safer, it is not the only way to do so. Other alternatives, such as a better training before having a license, and increasing the age of driving, are also ways of solving this issue.