Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

Nowadays, an increased number of tourists deciding to travel to distant destinations according to package tours such as mountain areas mark a new tendency of the tourist industry. Although this development is beneficial to the local residents in terms of economy and living conditions, it can have detrimental effects on the environment of these regions.

On the one hand, with growing the number of holidaymakers visits remote areas which would encourage economic growth. To be more specific, the furthest sectors bring wild and natural beauty pristine, and contain legendary stories. Therefore, visitors coming there have a high demand for goods and services, and are most willing to pay higher than average prices. This helps to boost local economies in remote areas and eventually enhance the living standard of the local people. In addition, regarding the social-cultural aspects, travellers from everywhere in the world with different cultures can provide ethnic people in faraway places, who are almost completely isolated from the outside world, with a lot of experiences through their interaction with one another, which can help these local dwellers to broaden knowledge about a more civilized society. By contrast, local inhabitants also can introduce their customs and traditions to international friends.

However, along with the package tours bring, there are also negative effects that we need to consider. Firstly, tourists often litter where ever they go and do not bother to clean after themselves in areas they have visited. This may lead to such consequences as dirty roads or polluting the water, which negatively and directly affects local people's living. Secondly, the construction of tourism facilities like hotels can drastically change the landscape of one area, meaning the loss of habitat for local animals and plants.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, although the societies and economy in remote areas can benefit tremendously from organized tourism, I think that the negative environmental consequences that this situation brings are far more significant.