In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home.What are the advantages and disadvantages of

As modern technological devices enable people to perform their tasks actively without traveling to work, many people choose to work from home. Although its benefits in the environment and work comfort are conspicuous, poor communication between staff and managers should also be considered.

On the one hand, there must be some valid rationales why this trend can achieve such huge prominence. The most transparent benefit lies in its implication on national environment well-being since fewer gas fumes are created. By that I mean, as people decide to work individually at home through internet-connection devices, their demand for private transport use declines predictably. Unless this infiltration of technology in the way people work has not been adopted, the amount of carbon dioxide could have been increased, leading to several urgent global environmental problems involving air pollution and climate change. In terms of individuals, meanwhile, the provision of an appropriate environment enables them to perform tasks actively and comfortably. A case in point can be seen in the common situation of nuclear families, who have to either accomplish work requirements or nurture their children. Since they are able to work on their flow without being restricted by companies, these activities might be ensured to be handled simultaneously.

Notwithstanding the above convenient features, working at home can decrease work productivity by limiting communication between colleagues and bosses. As effective communication may naturally be instilled when workers of the same companies are arranged into a group, ignoring this key element can put certain companies applying teleworking into trouble. This is because delivered information can easily be misled since managers might not be able to transmit their ideas comprehensively through modern communication devices. In addition to this, the abundant sources of entertainment from technological devices can also distract employees’ focus on work, which reduces their motivation and productivity.

In conclusion, technology is a promising tool that changes the current picture of work in an eco-friendly way. However, teleworking should be considered cautiously by businesses in order to ensure employees working effectiveness.