In the past shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend.

In the recent days, there is an emerged trend among the modern people that turns the shopping from a routine domestic task to a hobby. I personally think that it is a positive trend only until a certain point.

I acknowledge that go out for shopping can bring some positive outcomes. For instance, this kind of activities becomes a good alternative way for people to escape for a while from their daily hecticness. There are some research conducted among the corporate workers that state that the feeling of joy from shopping experience is capable to boost the positive energy which eventually leads to the more productive employees. Other than that, the increasing of buying as a hobby also stimulates the vast growth of some industries. For example, the high demand of various textile products makes this industry to be more alive and provides some new workplace for the public.

However, to some extent, just like the other habits that reach the uncontrolled level, there are some drawbacks from shopping trend as a hobby. The first thing, the more addictive people with this hobby, the more consumptive they are. Consequently, it will lead to unbalanced expenditures which certainly triggers to the bigger impacts such as, shortage of monthly income. At this point, the feeling of joy from shopping turns to a new source of stress. Furthermore, buying some unnecessary things out of basic needs usually leave a huge amount of unused products. At the end, these products will become a big problem to the environment. For example, there are tonnes of clothes waste every year as a result of the shopping trend.

Overall, I agree that there are some merits that follow the increasing of shopping trend. However, I fully aware that at the certain level, there are some negative impacts await as well.