Some claim that studying abroad has great benefits for a student’s home country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that giving the students the opportunity to study to the foreign countries will beneficial for their initial country. By considering some essential factors, I agree to some extent that the statement is right.

There are some positive impacts offered by the experience of study abroad for the students’s home country. Studying abroad is one of the effective ways to adopt the new knowledge and advanced technology from the other places of the world. The top-tier universities in technology like Stanford University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and Tokyo University, for example, are the first choices for Indonesian government to send their potential candidates to learn some new technologies. At the end, these students are hoped to be the initiators for Indonesia development in their specialization fields. In addition, the cultural changing by studying abroad also contribute to the advancement of Indonesia to take important role in globalization.

However, even though I really support the idea of sending the youngsters to study abroad, I fully aware of the demerits of this tendency. The students who study abroad are not always have the intention to come to their initial country. There are some of them who eventually decide to stay and look for a better life in the place where they had studied after the graduation, even to the extent of changing their nationality. Moreover, studying in the foreign countries do not always mean that the students will obtain a better education. Because, it depends on the education quality of their chosen university to learn. Therefore, in this case, there is no any impactful benefits for the home country.

To conclude, I agree that studying abroad is beneficial for the development of the students’s home country. However, in some certain cases, I do not ignore some contrary opinions about this phenomenon.