People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example.

Discuss the causes and give any recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight youth drug abuse.

The trend of using drugs, including legal and illegal types, is increasingly prevalent with society, especially to the youth. They are often influenced by the behaviors of both parents and other people. This essay will discuss the causes of this tendency and point out several necessary methods to tackle.

The main cause of the excessive usage of drugs among people because they do not pay proper attention to the kind of disease or illness that they might be prone to. For example, if children catch a cold, their parents tend to buy pills, which are effective to treat their current condition but are likely to have side effects, rather than applying safer methods such as staying warm or avoiding drinking soft drink. Another cause is that people are attracted by illegal drugs such as cannabis because they want to experience an extreme feeling that they might not have experienced before. Also, some of them might be susceptible to the temptation given by reckless friends, who set a bad example of this tendency.

Apart from the influence of both legal and illegal usage of drugs today, several methods should be considered. First, parents should discipline children to distinguish illegal and legal drugs so that they would not be confused when encountering them. Second, teachers should provide helpful information to students about the effects of drugs to develop a better awareness of them. Eventually, governments need to get involved in banning illegal drugs, which prevents local citizens from using them in the first place. Consequently, they not only become less dependant on drugs but also develop a healthier lifestyle.

In conclusion, while several factors expressed above have pointed out the reasons why people abuse drugs, I believe that teachers, parents, and governments play an integral role in dealing with this.